Monday, March 04, 2024
Tuesday, 12 January 2016 00:47

What You Should Know About The Government's New Dietary Guidelines

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Published every 5 years by the U.S. Departments of Agriculture and Health and Human Services for public health professionals, the government's Dietary Guidelines for Americans reflects the current body of nutrition science. The recommendations help Americans make healthy dietary choices and help shape nutrition policies and programs like school lunches and food benefits for mothers and children.

Sugar and Salt

The biggest changes are that cholesterol counting is not as important, while there is now a recommended limit on added sugar, which should make up no more than 10 percent of your daily calories. In keeping with the last guidelines issued in 2010, the government still advises people to eat less than 10 percent of their calories from saturated fat and less than 2,300 mg of sodium (salt) every day.

In addition to providing a cap on added sugar, the guidelines also include a chart of where Americans get most of their added sugars. The  term "sugar-sweetened beverages" is broken down into easily identifiable terms like soft drinks, sports and energy drinks and sweetened "fruit drinks."

Saturated fat

The committee’s report contained specific warnings to reduce red meat and processed meat consumption. Lower intakes of meats, including processed meats; processed poultry; sugar-sweetened foods, particularly beverages; and refined grains have often been identified as characteristics of healthy eating patterns.

For more information on the government's new 2015 dietary guidelines, visit http://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/

Read 2280 times Last modified on Sunday, 24 January 2016 02:22